RSS Feed

The homesteading backslide

Posted on

Through a series of unfortunate events, upon which I don’t care to expound, we have come to a point of urban homesteading that I have feared reaching – the backslide. As renters, I have always known we were at the mercy of our landlord when it came to our homesteading exploits. When our permission to keep backyard chickens was recently revoked in order for our landlords to address a property issue, I felt a bit deflated. Ok, more than a bit.

Fortunately, we have a close community of like-minded folks, so our options were numerous when considering a new home (or a swift end of life) for our trusty hens, procured just seven months ago from one of our favorite places – City Folk’s. Betty, Batgirl, Austra, Beyoncé and Pippin are now efficiently tilling the earth for our friends over at Harmonious Homestead, helping them prepare for expanded planting in 2014.

This experience has focused me even acutely on saving money to buy a modest homestead of our own as soon as possible. I would love to have our girls back in our own yard, doing work for us, turning scraps to nutrient-rich fertilizer and healthy eggs and entertaining us with their chicken ways. It was a moment of homesteading bliss cut too short.

20131028-213152.jpg

20131028-213217.jpg

20131028-213244.jpg

20131028-213306.jpg

20131028-213328.jpg

(These photos and links seem glitchy, so I’ll likely be back to fix them tomorrow.)

One response »

  1. What a bummer Kate! I know the feeling of getting in one’s own place sooner than later as well. I too want to put in deep roots and struggle with my inability to do so yet.

    Reply

Leave a comment