RSS Feed

I made pasta.

Posted on

For the first time, I made pasta.

The process was easy, thanks to a hand-me-down from a friend. (Best hand-me-down ever? I think so!)

I used a rather egg-heavy recipe, and my “nesting” technique was found lacking – resulting in very very wavy noodles. I think I’ll try to find one that uses less egg next time.

To let the flavor of the fresh pasta shine, I opted to make a simple vegan cream sauce. It called for flour, Earth Balance, soy milk, olive oil and salt. I added pepper and some pasta cooking water to thin the whole thing down. With the pasta and cream sauce, I tossed asparagus and peas, carrots and dill from the garden.

P1080733

We also had: kale chips, harvested minutes before going into the oven; spinach salad with cranberries, sunflower seeds and red onion; and roasted beets and beet green chips.

P1080736
(ugliest picture ever!)

The meal garnered an enthusiastic two thumbs up from all three of us.

Have you ever made pasta? If so, what’s your favorite recipe?

2 responses »

  1. Looks great! The secret to making pasta that we learned from Miriam and Chris is semolina flour.

    Reply
  2. Your blog is lovely. 🙂 I have always wanted to try making pasta. It looks very yummy. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

