RSS Feed

Recipe: vegan “alfredo” sauce

Posted on

I’m not vegan: I enjoy meat and eggs.

But my stomach doesn’t enjoy lactose.

No milk, cream, yogurt, cheese, butter, or any frozen version of the aforementioned yumminess.

But sometimes I’d like something on pasta other than a tomato-based sauce.

Enter this brilliance:

P1080232

Vegan “alfredo” sauce
Makes enough for 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

avocado, 1 ripe
lemon juice, to taste
garlic, to taste (1-3 cloves)
salt, to taste
pepper, to taste

Tools:
small-ish bowl
Immersion blender (or hand mixer)

1) Place avocado flesh in a small-ish bowl with garlic clove(s). Blend.

2) Add lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste. Blend.

3) Thin with water to a consistency that resembles alfredo sauce.

This has been a hit with kids and adults at potlucks. However, my child and husband both don’t like avocado. So I make it extra garlicky and extra lemony and use it over 2 or 3 days myself, stored in the fridge in between meals.

I can’t wait to get my hands on some freshly shelled spring peas to add to whole wheat pasta and top with this sauce.

An outtake:
P1080228

One response »

Leave a Reply

