RSS Feed

no more promises.

Posted on

.
Remember my last post?

I made this promise: “…I will be back, December 27th, with photos of every gift we created this season.

I failed. I have learned. I will not be making anymore promises. I am moving on.

And speaking of moving on, you can find my family somewhere along the moving on (or moving forward) continuum in a few different areas of life.

The biggest, and the most tenuous and stressful, area of change is happening with our living arrangements. We’re moving. We’re selling. We’re downsizing. We’re clearing our space of clutter. We’re focusing on what we need rather than what we want. We’re scrutinizing our life to figure out both the best use of our resources and how much of those resources we really need. We’re focusing on our relationships with others, the earth and ourselves.

This process is both exhausting and exhilarating, and it is the reason I’ve not posted an update since December 24th. I needed to be in a freer headspace, and I needed to have time to carve out of my day in order to keep up with the amount of posting, and the depth of content of those posts, that I want to require of myself.

Some people who read this post might be interested to know what exactly we’ll be doing when our house sells. If that’s you, you’ll be happy to know that this is not a teaser post.

We’ll become the host family in the intern-housing home just purchased by Franklinton Gardens. The occupants, other than us, will be mostly college students. They’ll participate in the new internship program and receive housing in exchange for working for the Gardens for a period from 3 to 12 months. This allows the interns to be immersed in the community they’ll be serving by growing and selling fresh, organic produce to their neighbors.

Franklinton is one of the most impoverished neighborhoods in Columbus, Ohio, and health-related deaths are high among the marginalized in society. Franklinton does not have a grocery store. The nearest one is not easily accessible by bus, which means that the residents rely heavily on the available items at the local drug store, convenience stores, fast food establishments and corner stores in the neighborhood. The items available there are not life-sustaining. They are pre-packaged, processed junk. That means our soon-to-be neighbors don’t have necessary vitamins, minerals, whole grains, lean proteins, and on and on, to sustain them.

Franklinton Gardens is working to provide access to these missing elements of life for the neighborhood. You can read more on their website

This change is missional for us. We’ll be living a simpler life which reduces our impact on the earth – which we’re called to steward. We’ll be living in community with people who love us – a need that is woven into the fabric of what it means to be human. We’ll be connected with the outside environment while volunteering in the gardens – an experience that feeds the soul and should be part of every child’s upbringing. We’ll be able to grow and preserve more whole foods than we can in our current small-ish yard – a move towards more healthy bodies for us, too.

I’m jubilant about this one “moving on” piece of our lives. My excited anticipation builds as each new thing is accomplished in the renovation of the Farmhouse. I’m cautiously optimistic each time our house is shown to a potential buyer, and I’m let down each time we receive feedback indicating that an offer won’t be made from a showing. And there are other projects being brought forward, in conjunction with our upcoming move and separate from our upcoming move, that are keeping me busier than I’ve ever found myself.

It’s a rollercoaster. Because of that, I make no promises.

2 responses »

  1. Mike Korenchuk

    I take my hat off to you and your family. The things you are passing along are way more than what you are passing up.

    Reply
  2. very cool guys

    Reply

Leave a Reply

