RSS Feed

mother’s day recap.

Posted on


(A craft I made with baby K’s handprint for her to take home to her mom.)

Mother’s Day was celebrated one day early at our house. We were able to spend nearly the entire day as a family, and it was especially fun.

First, I was allowed to sleep in about 30 minutes longer than Darren. A rarity!

Second, we headed to one of my favorite places, North Market to grab some yummy treats for brunch. I didn’t take a picture of our food, so you’ll just have to envision it. From Omega Artisan Baking, we purchase an almond croissant (for me!), a Bluescreek ham with swiss cheese croissant (for Dennis), a single rugelach (for Darren), a donut muffin ball (SO delicious!!!!) and loaf of Country French bread for the next few days. To drink, Dennis got a small fresh-squeezed orange juice from Bubbles, and I picked up a coffee from A Touch of Earth.

We took everything upstairs and had a leisurely brunch meal. Darren, worn on my back, liked looking over the rail into the market below. Here, you can see the flower stand, Market Blooms.

On our way to the car, we picked up four heirloom tomato plants for the garden from a stand in the outdoor farmers’ market. I think it was Bridgman Farm.

We decided to “swing by” my favorite bubble tea place, Momo2, for…what else,bubble tea. I tried a new one for me, Thai Coffee. It was delicious, but I still prefer Jasmine Green Tea with Watermelon syrup. Always with boba, of course.

Then we headed home for a family nap. Again, I got to sleep in for a bit after Darren got up.

We went to Mass at church. Then we headed out to Gahanna for their annual Herb Festival. To my dismay, I read the hours listed on the website wrong, and it had already closed up for the day. Instead, we had dinner at Old Bag of Nails while listening to solo guitar played by our friend, and fellow Capital alum, Tom Davis. (He’s getting married today! How terrific!!!)

Then we headed home, just in time for Dennis to pack up his gear and head to a gig.

It was a full day, and a happy one.

(Thank you for indulging my link craziness. These are some of my favorite Columbus things. I always feel compelled to share them.)

Leave a Reply

