RSS Feed

A different gauge.

Posted on

I (finally!) finished my dad’s hat yesterday. It was supposed to be a Christmas present. On Christmas day, I had exactly one inch knit…

Hopefully there is still some skiing season left for him in Northeast Ohio.

Now I know, start Christmas presents in August. Another example of not starting them in time is my older sister’s present. I didn’t even start it. I didn’t even conceive of it. I, lamely, gave her a verbal “IOU a knitted thing, you get to choose the pattern” towards the end of present unwrapping.

She chose a pattern AND bought the yarn and buttons. And boy-oh-boy is it nice yarn! 50% alpaca, 50% wool bulky. A HUGE departure from the DK I was just using for the hat. And I will be casting onto size 15 straights, as opposed to size 6 double-points. Can you say done in a day!?

And now something for you to drool over while I get the project underway…

2 responses »

  1. oooh…that yarn is yummy! i love knitting with alpaca…it’s one of my favs!

    Reply
  2. I hope the yarn is absorbant enough to soak up my drool. Looks so nice and comfy, mmmmmmm. 🙂 I might steal Dad’s hat once he gets it.

    Unfortunately, the header photo isn’t showing up. WordPress skills upgrade: optional.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

