RSS Feed

Garden update: June 20, 2013

Posted on

20130620-142936.jpg
To pick myself up, I’m trying to spend as much time as the heat and sun allow out in our urban yard today. With a cup of Chemex-brewed coffee in hand, I trudged out the back door earlier today with Darren to corral the chickens into our portable chicken pen, a place where they can spend some time foraging for bugs and greens that they don’t have access to in their secure run.

Our garden is coming along nicely this year. The well-spaced rain storms we’ve had in the last two weeks have made for little need to hand water and lush, green growth.

This morning, I harvested the first of our beans for the year. So far they’re thriving, all climbing higher than the supports I’ve made for them. They’re showing no signs of whatever disease took them all out last year, so I remain hopeful.

We have planted over a dozen tomato this year. I was delighted to see, upon returning from Michigan a few days ago, some already setting fruit. Most of the rest are in flower, but we do have some with horribly stunted growth. Tomorrow I’ll stop by City Folk’s for some organic plant food for the stragglers.

Yesterday, I ate the first squash of the season. I thought it was a summer squash, but I neglected to diagram the garden as I squeezed plants in just about everywhere, so I realized while slicing it up that it may have been an immature winter squash. Regardless, it was delicious sautéed in butter with some garlic, onions, cayenne, dill and salt!

On the pest front, I thankfully have little to report. There have been no signs of our urban groundhog; perhaps the trap scared him off? And the squash bugs have not yet shown themselves. I’ve seen lots of bees, ants, ladybugs and praying mantis babies, so we’re at least starting off on the right foot.

That sunflower at the top of this post? A happy surprise that grew in the middle of the beets. I decided to leave it and its three friends growing among the radishes. They’re a lovely addition to my otherwise vegetable-heavy gardens.

As the season progresses, I plan to pop back in with updates. Stay tuned for another foraging report in the next two days!

3 responses »

  1. love, love, love the updates and looking forward to my visit.

    Reply
  2. Wow, a sunflower bloom already? I’m jealous!

    Reply
  3. Hi Kate, Remember me, Patty from Fisher? I was just thinking about you. I had lunch with a colleague at the Dinin’ Hall. And I was telling her about the Franklinton community and thought I recalled you had moved there. I’ve done some volunteer work at the health clinic in Franklinton where my friend works and I believe a couple of people from my church volunteer with the gardens. Anyway, I think it’s a lovely community.

    I looked up your blog and shared it with my colleague as she is very interested in urban gardening and she also crochets. Your blog looks really cool and sounds like you have a very interesting life. Anyway, I just wanted to say Hello and I was thinking about you!
    Take care,
    Patty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

